let us think

When was the last time you really thought for yourself?

Think about it for a second. When was the last time you were alone with nothing or no one but yourself? No phone, no internet, no tv, no car, no people, nothing to put information into you but creation around you. It has been a while for me. I mean I really can’t remember the last time I did that but I want to do it. I want to do it on a regular basis and find out what happens. I mean what would it be like if there was no internet, no cell phones and the like. All of these apparatus that allow for instant gratification of desires for occupation or business. Anyone can be “busy” these days. I would like to talk with someone who is actually honest about their life and they say something like, “If I didn’t have a cell phone and the internet I wouldn’t have a life really.”

What would it be like if everyone turned off their cell phones for a month? I bet life would go on and I have a feeling that it might go on with a little more quality and satisfaction.

Now all of these thoughts mean nothing without an eternal purpose. I mean what motivation is there to put away the very things that mean so much to our lives if it wasn’t for something greater. But the thing that is greater cannot be seen and that is the big problem for most. Why does anyone want to live for someone who is unseen? Our society is all about showing up and doing things and whoever shows up and is the most active is the one who eventually makes it to the top. The people who are admired in our little societies are the ones who are always busy and who are a part of leading different groups.

What if the people who were admired in our societies where the people that cleaned the toilets? What if the jobs that were honored and sought after most were manual labor, farming and cleaning jobs? I have to be honest, at this point I don’t have the imagination to think of what that would be like.

I have asked a lot of questions in this entry and am not sure if I have answered any of them but let’s try something different. Let’s not try to answer the questions directly but to find what the real problem is, what is the underlying issue that is causing the questions to arise?

There is a simple answer and an eternal explanation of that. What I mean is that every problem that arises has a simple answer that can be given but also has an explanation as to why that is the answer. Kind of like what you had to go through in math class. I was always good at math; that is I could see the problem and know the answer to the problem quickly and easily. But part of learning math was the need to show your work in how you came to find the answer. I really didn’t like that part. But I can see now how that part of the education in school was so needed. To learn go through the process of understanding steps to a solution and being able to explain them.

So the simple answer to the questions of what would life be like without different things we don’t really need (such as electronics and the like) would be that life would likely be more satisfying; more free; more alive. For the complex explanation I will direct you to the wonderful and pure Word of God for God’s Holy Spirit can most powerfully move in an individual’s heart who is opening their hearts exclusively to God’s revealed Word.

To the praise and glory of Jesus Christ, the King of kings and Lord of lords. Jesus is God and Creator of all.

“Truly, truly, I say to you, before Abraham was, I am.” (John 8:58 ESV)

About steeveshealth

Hello. My name is Jason Steeves. I believe I am here to help people heal body, mind, and spirit.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

